Meet Amanda Barnes-Tolson, Wellness & Aquatics Director

You know her name, you’ve seen her face. Meet Amanda Barnes-Tolson! She has worked at Old Hawthorne for 9 years, directing and overseeing numerous activities around the club. We hope you enjoy getting to learn a little bit more about her.

How long have you lived in Columbia?

  • I’m a boomerang… I lived here in college, then moved away, then moved back about 14 years ago.

Why do you like working at Old Hawthorne?

  • The people – both the coworkers and the members.

What is your favorite amenity at Old Hawthorne? Why?

  • Being responsible for the wellness center, I would have to say that it is my favorite amenity. It’s very special that we are the only private country club in the area who offers this level of state-of-the-art facility and the professionals to staff it.

When you were a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

  • I think at one time I wanted to be a ballerina.

What is something that someone would be surprised to learn about you?

  • I have worked at this amazing golf course for 9 years and I’ve played our course once.

What do you enjoy doing in your spare time?

  • Workout, read, cook, travel when I can.

Are you a sports fan? If so, what is your favorite team?

  • I was born in Chicago so by law I’m required to support the Bears and Cubs. But I’m more of a Cardinals baseball girl.

What is the best piece of advice you have received?

  • Your brain is stronger than your doubt. Just keep going.
Tagged with: , , , ,
Posted in Fitness, Old Hawthorne Community, Swimming

Leave a comment